Japanese art: from Hokusai to the present

A new multimedia exhibition "The Art of Japan: from Hokusai to Modern Times" is opening at Artplay Media Center for Digital Art on November 29. The exhibition will include not only internationally known masterpieces of such masters of Japanese prints as Katsushika Hokusai, but also little-known to the general public works: women's portraits of the "last guru of the ukiyo-e era" Yoshitoshi Tsukioki and landscape prints Imao Kainen from the private gallery of Russian collector and connoisseur of Japanese culture Catherine Pugacheva. 

Wooden ukiyo-e prints - "pictures of the changing world" - were perhaps the most striking phenomenon in Japan in the XVII-XIX centuries. They are the mirror of Japanese urban culture with its complex hierarchy, special language of allegories, allusions, symbols, its mythology, specific spirit of freedom and special aesthetics. It was engraving that made Japanese art famous in European countries. Thanks to it in XIX century "Japaneseism" penetrated into European painting and arts and crafts, influencing the impressionists, postimpressionists and masters of Art Nouveau. And yet for most people Japanese art remained a curiosity: paintings seemed like unfinished sketches, scrolls like wallpaper, and prints like caricatures. And even today many aspects of Japanese art are not fully understood by the Western viewer. 
At the multimedia exhibition at Artplay Media four traditional genres of prints come to life in front of the viewer: bijinga (depiction of beauties from "merry neighborhoods"), fukeiga (landscape), katyoga (flowers and birds), musya-e (depiction of warriors). And the voice-over text, recorded for the exhibition by Dmitry Kovalenin, will help understand Japanese mythology and symbolism. 
Dmitry Kovalenin is a writer and orientalist, translator of such contemporary Japanese writers as Haruki Murakami, Machi Tawara, Iori Fujiwara, Kotaro Takamura, Yoko Ogawa, Sayaka Murata. Kovalenin is also known as the author of a unique two-volume monograph on the life and works of Haruki Murakami ("Sushi-Noir. The Amusing MurakamiEducation") and the book "Koro-Koro", a collection of short prose, stories and essays about contemporary Japan. 

Cinema360
This is a total multimedia installation, immersing the spectator into the sensual world of masterpieces created by great artists. The images are projected on huge screens and on the floor as well. The total area of the projection is about 1200 sq. m.
6+
Get In Touch
Мультимедиа выставки

Искусство Японии: от Хокусая до современности

29 ноября в Центре цифрового искусства Artplay Media открывается новая мультимедийная выставка "Искусство Японии: от Хокусая до современности". В выставку войдут не только всемирно известные шедевры таких мастеров японской гравюры, как Кацусика Хокусай, но и мало известные широкой публике работы: женские портреты «последнего гуру эпохи укиё-э» Ёситоси Цукиоки и пейзажные гравюры Имао Кайнэна из частной галереи российского коллекционера и знатока японской культуры Екатерины Пугачевой.

Деревянные гравюры укиё-э — «картины изменчивого мира» — стали, пожалуй, самым ярким явлением в Японии XVII–XIX веков. Это зеркало японской городской культуры с его сложной иерархией, особым языком иносказаний, аллюзий, символов, своей мифологией, специфическим духом свободы и особой эстетикой. Именно гравюра прославила японское искусство в странах Европы. Благодаря ей в XIX веке «японизм» проник в европейскую живопись и декоративно-прикладное искусство, повлияв на импрессионистов, постимпрессионистов и мастеров ар-нуво. И все же для большинства японское искусство оставалось диковинкой: картины казались незаконченными эскизами, свитки напоминали обои, а гравюра — карикатуру. И даже сегодня многие аспекты японского искусства не вполне понятны западному зрителю.
На мультимедийной выставке в Artplay Media перед зрителем оживают четыре традиционных жанра гравюры: бидзинга (изображение красавиц из «веселых кварталов»), фукэйга (пейзаж), катёга (цветы и птицы), муся-э (изображение воинов). А закадровый текст, записанный для выставки Дмитрием Ковалениным, поможет разобраться в японской мифологии и символике.
Дмитрий Коваленин — писатель и востоковед, переводчик таких современных японских писателей, как Харуки Мураками, Мати Тавара, Иори Фудзивара, Котаро Такамура, Ёко Огава, Саяка Мурата. Коваленин также известен как автор уникальной 2-хтомной монографии о жизни и творчестве Харуки Мураками («Суси-Нуар. Занимательное муракамиЕдение») и книги «Коро-коро» — сборника малой прозы, рассказов и эссе о современной Японии.

Что такое Cinema360
Это тотальная мультимедийная инсталляция, погружающая зрителя в чувственный мир образов, созданных великими художниками. Изображение проецируется не только на экраны, но и на пол. Общая площадь проекции составляет около 1200 кв.м.
6+
Связаться
Мультимедиа выставки